/ / / Firekeeper’s Daughter

Firekeeper’s Daughter

£12.99

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist

£3.20 postage to UK Mainland per order

  • Check Mark Curated Service
  • Check Mark Independent Book Shop
  • Check Mark Secure Payments
GUARANTEED SAFE CHECKOUT
SKU: 9781786079046 Categories: , , Tags: , ,

Description

As a biracial, unenrolled tribal member and the product of a scandal, eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. Daunis dreams of studying medicine, but when her family is struck by tragedy, she puts her future on hold to care for her fragile mother. The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi’s hockey team. Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, certain details don’t add up and she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into the heart of a criminal investigation.

Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, but secretly pursues her own investigation, tracking down the criminals with her knowledge of chemistry and traditional medicine. But the deceptions—and deaths—keep piling up and soon the threat strikes too close to home. Now, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she’ll go to protect her community, even if it tears apart the only world she’s ever known.

Debut author Angeline Boulley crafts a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.

Trigger Warnings: Violence, Misogyny/ Violence against Women, Sexual Abuse, Murder, Blood, Drug Abuse.